What percentage of grooms ask the bride’s father for permission to marry thier daughter?

This is lost, I don’t know if men just don’t understand the importance or what – but the answer is….only 4%!!

One tradition that has been slowly fading away from Western society is asking a woman’s father for her hand in marriage. Many argue that the whole idea smacks of sexism and chauvinism and harks back to times when women were treated like chattel.

Whatever. I think it’s just respectful to ask your future bride’s father for his blessing as you start down the path towards matrimony. It lets your girlfriend’s father know that you’re sincere in your intentions and a true gentleman. It’s an important tradition, a rite of passage, and a bonding experience between you and your future father-in-law. Plus, most women we asked think it’s a sweet gesture.

3 thoughts on “What percentage of grooms ask the bride’s father for permission to marry thier daughter?

  1. marysha1977 says:

    Interesting post. The first time I was married, I was all for my boyfriend asking my father. Ten years later, and wiser, I asked my father if it was necessary, and he said “No, Shannon, you are in your 30s now.” So I think it may really depend on the situation. Getting remarried–totally not necessary. But I wonder if the low percentage rate is because of many “broken families”, where the father doesn’t play a prominent role in the daughter’s life to begin with?

Leave a Reply

